Friday, January 29, 2010

First annual China Open to be held this May

This week, IDEA announced a new tournament for university debate teams! The first annual China Open will take place on May 28-30, 2010 on the beautiful campus of Xi'an Jiaotong University in Xi'an China. The tournament will be conducted in the Four-Team Parliamentary Debate format, and will include English and Mandarin divisions. The chief adjudicator will be Logandran Balavijendran, who is a two-time champion of the All-Asian Debate Championship and a chief adjudicator of the 2010 World Universities Debating Championship. The grand prize for all divisions includes a debate tour of the Pacific Northwest region of the United States.

Best of all, there are no participation fees for the China Open. However, space is limited. Each school will initially be allowed to enter only two teams, but each school may enter one additional English team for each Mandarin team entered. Also, each school is required to bring one judge for every two teams. Participants will be responsible for the costs of transportation, meals and lodging.

Registration will begin soon! For more information, visit the event page.

No comments: