Friday, June 04, 2010

Over one hundred teams participate in first-annual IDEA China Open

The first annual IDEA China Open took place this past weekend from May 28th to May 30th on the beautiful campus of Xi'an Jiaotong University in Xi'an, China. The tournament included 116 participating teams with university students from China, the United States, Australia and the Philippines.

The tournament implemented Four-Team Parliamentary Debate format in both English and Mandarin divisions, in which 80 teams debated in the English division and 36 teams debated in the Mandarin division. The first place winners of each division have received the grand prize, which includes a debate tour of the Pacific Northwest region of the United States.

Congratulations to the following 2010 China Open English Division winners:
First Place- Zhang Xinyi (Xi'an International Studies University) and Ciaran Downey (Palomar College)
Second Place- Tang Xiaojiao and Zhang Yiming (Fudan University TZ)
Finalists- Yang Zhen (Dalian Nationalities University) and Joe Provencher (Willamette University); Annie Berry and Jacob Crooks (Azusa Pacific University)

Congratulations to the following 2010 China Open Mandarin Division winners:
First Place- Xun Taihao (Peking University) and Li Yanran (Xi'an Jiaotong University)
Second Place- Yan Xueling and Zeng Qingxi (Sichuan University ZY)
Finalists- Wang Jianan and Zhang Shujie (Xi'an Jiaotong University ZW);
Wei Li and Huang Yizhi (Xi'an Jiaotong University HW)

A Moot Court division was also added to the tournament, which introduced students to the rule of law, legal representation, court etiquette, techniques, strategies and competition in a simulated courtroom atmosphere. For more information on the 2010 IDEA China Open, click here.

No comments: