Friday, March 12, 2010

2010 China Open announces new Moot Court division

In addition to the Four-Team Parliamentary Debate divisions in English and Mandarin, the 2010 China Open has recently added a new division in Moot Court. University debate teams can now register for any of these events at the China Open, which will take place May 28-30, 2010 on the campus of Xi'an Jiaotong University in Xi'an, China.

The chief adjudicator of the tournament will be Logandran Balavijendran, a two-time champion of the All-Asian Debate Championship and a chief adjudicator of the 2010 World Universities Debating Championship. The grand prize includes a debate tour of the Pacific Northwest region of the United states.

There are no participation fees for the tournament; schools are only responsible for their lodging, meals, and transportation. However, for every Mandarin team entered, each school may enter one additional English team. Each school is also required to bring one judge for every two teams entered. To register for the 2010 China Open, click here.

No comments: