Friday, April 09, 2010

Winners of the 2010 HWS-IDEA Round Robin Tournament announced

On April 2-3, IDEA and Hobart and William Smith College hosted the fourth-annual Round Robin Tournament for sixteen top university debate teams from around the world. As always, the 2010 Round Robin was held on the campus of Hobart and William Smith College in Geneva, New York and this year included teams from Greece, England, Canada, Ireland, Slovenia, Malaysia, South Africa, Australia, Israel, South Korea, and the United States.

Congratulations to the team from Trinity College Historical Society of Ireland, the new Round Robin Champions! Second place went to Queen's University of Canada, and finalists were Cornell University of the United States and the University of Sydney Union of Australia. The top three speakers were Tim Mooney (Sydney Union), Bronwyn Cowell (Sydney Union), and Jack Watson (Cambridge). This year's honored adjudicator was awarded to Michael Kotrly.

The HWS-IDEA Round Robin Tournament is designed to bring together an elite and internationally diverse group of debaters each year for a weekend of debate at the highest level. The tournament is held in World-Universities Debate Championship format with pre-paired round robin teams, ensuring that each team debates against every other team at least once. For more information, click here.

No comments: