Friday, April 16, 2010

Winners of the US Universities Debate Championships announced

On April 9-11, the US Universities Debate Championship tournament was held at Regis University and Denver University in Denver, Colorado. The tournament included 124 teams from universities across the United States. Congratulations to the team of Charlie Sprague, Jesse Katz-Blumenthal, and coach John Meany from the Debate Union of Claremont Colleges, this year's tournament winners!

The motion for the final round was, "This House believes that terror suspects should be tried in civilian courts." Other teams that advanced to the final round were Portland State University, Stanford University, and Yale University.

To visit the official website of the annual USU Debate Championships, click here. For more information and full-results of the 2010 tournament, click here.

No comments: